The RCPA is the leading organisation representing Pathologists and Senior Scientists in Australasia. Its mission is to train and support pathologists and to improve the use of pathology testing to achieve better healthcare. For those who are not already familiar with this area of medicine, pathology is about the study of the causes of disease and pathologists are the specialist medical doctors involved in the diagnosis and monitoring almost of all acute and chronic illnesses.

As a way of background, the College was first established in 1956 and has been responsible for the training and professional development of Pathologists since that time and more recently Senior Scientists. College members come from across Australasia including Australia, New Zealand, Hong Kong, Singapore, Malaysia and Saudi Arabia. The RCPA is also responsible for the promotion of the science and practice of pathology.

The RCPA offices are located in the heritage listed, Durham Hall in Surry Hills, Sydney. It is a not-for-profit organisation which is governed by its Board of Directors. The College’s current President is A/Prof Trishe Leong, CEO is Dr Debra Graves and DCEO is Dr Helen Freeborn. The College management team consists of some 40 staff members who administer all aspects of the running of the College.

The various areas of this site cover: the College structure and its committees; training requirements for a career in pathology and the various disciplines of pathology on offer; and College publications and pathology in the news. It also provides information about continuing education, major events, College policies, documents and publications. Should you have any concerns, please refer to the College’s Complaints Handling Policy here.

We hope you find our website useful and interesting.


The RCPA’s Constitution. Amended November 2020.

Find Out More


The College is governed by a number of Committees.

Find Out More

History of the College

On 10 April 1956, the College of Pathologists of Australia was incorporated under the Companies Act of 1936.

Find Out More

Member Types

The College offers membership at a number of levels including Fellowship, Affiliateship, Associateship.

Find Out More

What Is Pathology?

There are nine different disciplines of Pathology - Anatomical, Chemical, Clinical, Forensic, General, Genetic, Haematology, Immunopathology and Microbiology.

Find Out More

Page last updated:

Copyright © 2023 RCPA. All rights reserved.